Sign In Forgot Password

Executive Director

Debbie Kardon is the Executive Director of Action for Post-Soviet Jewry. Debbie has degrees from Syracuse University and Hebrew Union College in Social Work and Jewish Education. Debbie started her career as a professional in the Jewish community in college, teaching part-time at a local Congregation. After graduating Debbie worked for many years with homeless and at-risk teens, always balancing this work by continuing to work part-time in the Jewish community.  After taking time to focus on raising her three children, Debbie returned to the full-time workforce in leadership roles within Jewish non-profits. As a change agent and organizational leader  Debbie has worked to establish new innovative programs, successfully securing funding and spearheading their design and implementation. Debbie loves Israel, yoga, teaching about the Holocaust, and spending time with her now-adult children. 

Professional Staff

Marina Javits,   Program Associate

Элла Гончарова,  Ukraine Program Director

APSJ's Partners in Ukraine


Yakov (Yan) Sidelkovsky, Boston Ambassador, Israel and Global Jewish Citizenship, Combined Jewish Philanthropies

Zelig Brez, Executive Director, The Dnipro Jewish Community

18 Community Care Coordinators

APSJ's Partners in Eastern Europe


Faina P. Polei, Community Care Coordinator


Rabbi Yoseph Abelsky, Community Care Coordinator


Rabbi Sholom Krinsky, Community Care Coordinator


Dr. Maxim Osipov, Tarusa Hospital-Medical Supplies 

Board of Directors

Barbara Karchmer, President

Carol Clingan, Vice President  

Robert Gordon, Treasurer

Barbara Anatolev, Clerk

Robert Gordon, Founder Emeritus

Judy Patkin  Executive Director Emerita

Zale Anis

Mila Bronstein 

Susan Brown

Sergey Broude

Evgenia Doktor

Tatyana Goldwyn

Melinda Harrison

Shirley Hurwitz

Roz Kaplan

Boris Katz

Ery Magasanik


Board Meetings 2021-22

We meet on the second Tuesday of the month, every other month with the exception of January and July.

Aug 10, 2021 07:00 PM Dec 14, 2021 07:00 PM Apr 12, 2022 07:00 PM
  Jan 9, 2022 09:30 AM-12:30 PM Strategic Planning  
Oct 12, 2021 07:00 PM Feb 8, 2022 07:00 PM June 14, 2022  07:00 PM   
Nov 9, 2021 07:00 PM   June 28, 2022  07:00 PM     Budget approval 
Sun, May 29 2022 28 Iyyar 5782